My article about the elections in Turkey was published Gulan magazine on Monday the 8th January 2007.

Gulan is published in Hewler. It is the capital of the autonomous zone in North Irak which is ruled by the Kurdistan Regional Government.

Here you can see the article. Please look the whole page, there are two names in Latin letters.

http://www.gulan-media.com/h617/g41.pdf

Here is the article in English for those who can not read sorani:

The integrity of elections in Turkey

Turkey deported me last December. Now I am not permitted to enter the country. The Turkish ministry of internal affairs says that the reason is the security of the state.

I am a writer. I have done my doctoral dissertation in sociology about the effects of war to civil population in North Kurdistan.

I am causing danger to the security of the Republic of Turkey. What should I think about this? I do not feel myself a dangerous person. How strong Turkish state is when it is afraid of writers and intellectuals?

It is not only my rights which are limited by this prohibition. When I am not permitted to travel to Turkey it hinders Kurdish political parties and associations to communicate and distribute information freely. During my sixteen journeys to Turkey I have contacted many organisations which are registered according the Turkish law. Their freedom of expression is now limited.

There will be parliament elections in Turkey next November, maybe earlier. Election campaigns have started. Election observation must start now.

The 29th December Finnish foreign minister Erkki Tuomioja had a press conference in Helsinki. At that time Finland was the chairman of European Union. I asked him what he thinks about the integrity of the elections. Minister Tuomioja answered that there will be wide election observation operation in Turkey done by OSCE (Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe). No hindrance in its work will be accepted.

Last year Turkey deported also Human Rights Watch representative Jonathan Sudgen. He, I and other people must be allowed to travel freely in Turkey to observe the situation in the Kurdish area. Otherwise the elections are not fair.